For those of us who did not grow up eating this slightly caramelised-tasting condensed milk drizzled on ice cream, lathered on bread and licked straight off a spoon, it’s spoken as DOLE-say-day-LAY-chay.

0feab-img_1356

In the midst of clearing my pantry, I found 4 cans of condensed milk that was close to its expiry date. That’s a lot of condensed milk to use up within such short notice! I remembered reading about ‘Dulce de Leche’ a thick and sweet gooey paste that supposedly tasted like toffee. It was made by simmering a can of condensed milk for 2 – 3 hours in water.  I had always wanted to try making it and now was the perfect time. So how did my home made ‘Dulce de Leche’ taste?

Most likely better than those you can buy off the shelves. I say most likely because I have never tasted Dulce de Leche until today. Do l like it? I’m on the fence with this. Except for a slight caramelised undertone, this taste like condensed milk to me. I would not go through the process of making Dulce de Leche just to eat it. As you know, I don’t have a sweet tooth and the idea of slathering it on a slice of bread? I’m afraid it’s just not me. Add it to coffee? I drink my coffee black most times and if I had to have a milk coffee, it would definitely be a Cafe Latte.

So how would I most likely use up my last 3 cans of Dulce de Leche? It’s so versatile I can think of a least 9 simple ways:

(1) Drizzled over a bowl of sliced bananas and some aerosol whipped cream
Yes, I am not denying it, I love the canned stuff – some brands are definitely better than others though.

IMG_2311
Simplest but by far the best way to eat Dulce de Leche!

(2) Over yogurt
A simple and delicious way to eat it and perhaps the least disastrous to your waistline.

IMG_2368
Simple and probably the most healthy way to eat Dulce de Leche.

(3) Swirl it into a mix of whipping cream + double cream/mascarpone 
Then top with some sweet strawberries and/or peanuts.

IMG_2260
Not bad at all. The crunch from the peanuts was lovely!

(4) As a cake or cupcake frosting
Work it into either creamed cheese or whipped cream.

IMG_2276
For those with a sweet tooth. This cream cheese+Dulce de Leche frosting with an additional piping of Dulce de Leche will make you very happy!

(5) Drizzled over a scoop of vanilla ice cream
Shower with toasted slivered almonds.

IMG_2339
For the ice cream lovers!

(6) On your breakfast cereal

IMG_2334
Yummy on my breakfast cereal!

(7) As a dip with my home made churros

uncooked churros
Yes, they haven’t been fried yet here but they already look delicious.

(8) Over homemade crepes or pancakes

That’s my Fluffy Egg White Ricotta Sour Cream Pancakes

(9) Drizzled over my homemade pavlova
That would have been first topped with clouds of whipped cream and cubes of sweet-tart golden kiwis.

pavlova kiwi

Some news!
I was thrilled to have my recipe, ‘Tiramisu With Eggs But Without The Raw Eggs featured in the Italian baker/confectioner, Pan Ducale’s Facebook page (20 July). Here’s the link to it. It was unsolicited and it was nice of them to credit me.

I have a Facebook page! Do click on it and like. I finally have a subscription button too! Key in you email to get updates if you wish. I am finding WordPress easier to navigate than Blogger and that makes writing so much more pleasant. During the transfer from Blogger to WordPress text and font have gone awry, Pull-down Tabs have to be neaten, so thank you for your patience while I do some house tidying.

tiramisu11

Ducle de Leche And 9 Ways To Eat It

Prep: 5 minutes 
Cook: ~ 3 hours to get a dark toffee colour similar to the one in my feature image
Inactive: ~2 hours to cool
Level: Easy
Makes: 1 can
Oven Temperature:
Can recipe be doubled? Yes, simmering times remain unchanged.
Make ahead? Unopened cans supposedly keeps indefinitely unrefrigerated. I would use it up within 4 – 6 weeks.

Ingredients

1 can of condensed milk
Lots of water
A kettle of hot water on the ready

Method

 

1. The pot you use to hold the can of condensed milk has to to be wide enough to hold the can of milk on its side. It also has to be deep.
2. Place can on its side in the pot. Top with water to cover 2″ (5cm) above the can.
3. Bring water to boil and then lower the temperature to a simmer. Simmer away for 3 hours uncovered.
4. Check on it every 45 minutes or so to ensure that the water level never goes below 2″ (5cm) from top of  can. Top with that kettle of hot water if it gets any lower. Be diligent with the topping up. You risk the can of milk exploding on you if you let the water level fall too far. Better to be safe than sorry.
5. After 3 hours, turn off the burner. It’s safest to lift the hot can out with a large sturdy strainer than a slippery pair of tongs. Cool completely before attempting to open the can.
6. Simmered to this stage, the creamy coloured condensed milk would have turned a toffee brown just like the one above. If you under boil it, it will be a lighter shade which is fine really.

To serve
1. Enjoy it anyway you like. In your coffee, milkshake, over a slice of bread, on ice cream, etcetera. I have already tried it various ways and my favourite is still over bananas and aerosol whipped cream. Add some toasted nuts and it’s one satisfying dessert!

Tips

(1) How to store Dulce de Leche 

IMG_2363

Dulce de Leche is very sticky and once the can is opened, it can be messy to store and use. This is the easiest way. Transfer contents from can to a plastic freezer bag.  Twist ends and hold in place with a bag clip. Snip a tiny end off and pipe off what you require. To store, I usually point the cut end upwards, being careful there is no back drip and place in a tall glass. Don’t worry about sealing the open tip shut as the Dulce de Leche is so sticky, it ‘seals’ the bag shut.

(2) Recapped here, a few ways to enjoy Dulce de Leche

  1. Drizzled over a bowl of sliced bananas and some aerosol whipped cream. Yes, yes I am not denying it, I love the canned stuff – some brands are definitely better than others though.
  2. On yogurt.
  3. On your breakfast cereal.
  4. Over home made crepes or pancakes.
  5. As a dip with my home made churros.
  6. On vanilla ice cream with some toasted slivered almonds strew over it.
  7. As a cake or cupcake frosting combined with either a creamed cheese or whipped creamed frosting.
  8. Swirl it into whipped cream (whipping cream + double cream/mascarpone) and then topped with some sweet strawberries and/or peanuts.
  9. Drizzled over my home made pavlova that would have billowy clouds of whipped cream topped with cubes of sweet-tart golden kiwis.

WHAT’S COMING UP NEXT?

These cordial went to a party! Topped with moscato, prosecco or sweetened soda, it not only made funky looking purple drinks it was a welcome change from strawberries or raspberries based summer drinks.

IMG_2123

