There are so many crepe recipes so why would you need another? Well, you don’t. As long as the recipe you are currently using produces the crepes that you like eating, stick with that recipe. I am including this crepe recipe that I have been using since I was 14 years old in my blog as I am tired of making them and am hoping someone will start making them for me instead. Crepes are delicious, easy to make and I like that this recipe uses as little flour as I can get away with. They pair with almost anything from sweet to savoury but I always go with sweet as that’s what I was fed on.

I have been eating crepes as a sweet treat for as long as I can remember. Growing up we didn’t eat a lot of cake nor did I grow up in a household where there would be smells of baked cookies or cakes wafting out from the kitchen. No, my parents were working professionals. So we really ate very few homemade sweet things. The only occasional sweet treat that will appear from the kitchen was, you guessed it, crepes! I can’t remember how I took over making crepes for the family but I’m quite certain, I became the family’s ‘crepe maker’ only because I was the greediest in the family. I wanted to eat crepes when I wanted to eat them and the only way to eat them on a more regular basis was to learn how to make them! Soon, I got tired of making them for the family and I went to paint the recipe, complete with colour illustrations, on how to make crepe on the kitchen door! I felt quite clever as I thought a family member will soon start making crepes for me instead.  After all, the recipe was now, as clear as day, painted onto the kitchen door! Nope. Didn’t happen. No one else would make crepe. Instead, my lazy family members soon just stopped asking me to make crepe as I would always reply, “Hey, recipe on kitchen door.” Ok, is someone finally, going to make me some crepes?

Try making my Strawberry Jam Simplified. That’s what I used to spread on the crepes in my feature image.

7a115-img_6438

Crepe, Thin Pancakes

Prep: 15 minutes 
Cook: ~ 15 minutes to fry up 18 crepes
Inactive: Best to refrigerate batter overnight. In a hurry? 1 hour.
Level: Easy
Makes: 18 7″ (18cm) crepes
Oven Temperature:
Can recipe be doubled? Yes
Make ahead? 2 hours and up to a day ahead. 

Ingredients

1 cup=250ml=8.45US fl oz

~3.52 oz (100g) plain/all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup eggs (~2 large eggs)
~1 – 2 Tablespoons neutral tasting oil
10.14 fl oz (300ml) milk
2 Tablespoons melted butter for brushing frying pan
Optional flavourings to add to batter: 1 teaspoon brandy or vanilla extract.
Things to go with crepes
Sweet: Jam, chocolate spread, maple syrup, honey, butter, sugar, …
Savoury: Ham, a little white sauce, cheese, …

Method

A few tips to start off with
1. I use my immersion blender to mix everything. If you don’t have one, use a whisk.
2. To minimise washing up, it is best to use a tall container with a lid to prepare the batter as it means once batter is made, you can just cover the container with lid and refrigerate, as is, to rest the batter overnight (or an hour). When you are ready to make crepes, you can pour the batter straight out from the container. Well, I do. You might have to use a ladle.

Putting batter together
1. Place flour and salt in bottom of the container. Create a well.
2. Crack the 2 eggs into the well, then add the milk, neutral tasting oil and flavourings if using.
3. Blend everything with an immersion blender. Replace lid and refrigerate overnight (for batter to rest and develop flavour) or at least an hour.

Preparing to fry
1. A nonstick frying pan works the best but I’ve also fried them in regular frying pans.
2. Have the 2 Tablespoons melted butter and a heatproof pastry brush (or just use some paper kitchen towels) by the frying pan.
3. Also have a plate close by to hold cook crepes.
4. Heat up the frying pan on medium high heat. When you sprinkle the pan with some water and it sizzles, the pan is hot enough.
5. The idea is to create a thin film of batter to cover the entire base of the frying pan. How much batter you add to the pan is something you have to estimate and figure out as only you know what size of a frying pan you are using right :)?

Frying crepes
1. Brush melted butter onto the heated pan. Stir the crepe batter briefly.
2. You have to use both hands at the same time. Use one hand to pour (or ladle) batter into the centre of the pan and the other to tilt the pan to help swirl the batter into an even layer to cover the base of the frying pan. If this is your first time making crepes, be prepared to patch up any holes with a little more batter.
3. The first crepe most times comes out less than pretty. It will get prettier from the second crepe onwards. *
4. When to flip the crepe? In less than 30 -45 seconds (depending on how thin your managed to make the crepe), the batter on the surface of the crepe will have dried up. With a thin spatula/frying slice (my flexible silicon frying slice works best), ease circumference of the crepe batter away from the pan. Then, slide the spatula/frying slice 1/3 to 1/2 way under the crepe. You might need to use your fingers to help things along. Flip the crepe over.
5. After 15 – 20 seconds, remove pan from burner, overturn the frying pan directly over your waiting plate so that crepe drops onto plate. I like my crepe to have very little colour (browning) on it.
6. Return pan to burner, butter the pan, stir the crepe batter briefly and continue to make more crepes.
If the crepe does not seem to hold its shape, it needs a bit more flour. Whisk in 1 – 2 Tablespoons flour.

Tips

To store
1. Cover stacked crepes with plastic wrap. I sit them on my kitchen counter up to 2 hours, after which, I refrigerate them. Make them up to a day ahead.

To warm up
1. A microwave does the best job.
2. Alternatively, place in cold frying pan, cover pan tightly with lid or aluminium foil, set over burner on low heat and warm through. ~ 5 – 10 minutes depending on how many crepes are being warmed through at the same time.

WHAT’S COMING UP NEXT?

img_2607

